Virginia Traffic Laws
Feeling a little rusty on your knowledge of the current Virginia traffic laws? Want to improve your safety on the road? We can help! Here are some of the most important defensive driving tips for drivers in Virginia to utilize. Keep yourself and your loved one safer by following these laws:
Don’t Drive Aggressively!
Driving aggressively is against Virginia traffic laws Most of us have encountered an Aggressive Driver on the road. It can be quite scary and dangerous to experience one of these angry, careless drivers. Typically, an aggressive driver will exhibit risky driving behaviors. These include:
- Cutting others off
- Frequent lane changes
- Obscene gestures
- Horn honking
If you experience a driver of this sort on the road, one of the best defensive driving tips is to keep your distance. Since the driver is, most likely, already violating multiple Virginia traffic laws, engaging them may result in an even scarier situation. If you see aggressive driving behaviors that lead to an accident, it’s best to pull over a safe distance away to wait and report your observations to a police officer. You are also encouraged to contact #77 to report aggressive drivers. If so, be prepared to give a description of the vehicle, location and license plate number.
Don’t Drink and Drive!
It is against the law to driver while under the influence in Virginia. Drinking and Driving is a serious offence. The state is taking drastic measure to prevent more injuries and deaths as a result of this preventable, highly dangerous behavior. By implementing some of the Toughest DUI Laws in the country, the state hopes to minimize the frequency in which those who have been drinking get behind the wheel. These Virginia traffic laws regarding driving and driving include:
- While the legal BAC limit is 0.08%, you may be considered under the influence with a lower BAC if your ability to operate your vehicle is deemed impaired.
- You can be arrested and charged with a DUI up to three hours after a crash, at any location with no warrant, if an officer has probable cause.
- Upon a third or subsequent DUI arrest in a five-year period you will not be granted bail to await your trial.
The penalties for drinking and driving are not fun. Depending on the severity of your offense and the number of DUI offenses you’ve received in the past, the penalties of a DUI arrest can include:
- Fines ranging from a minimum of $250 to more than $2,500
- An ignition Interlock device requirement
- Alcohol education treatment program completion
- Drivers license suspension or revocation
- A felony on your record
- Jail terms ranging in time
- Vehicle impoundment or forfeiture
- Restitution fines of up to $1,000
It’s not only driving with a BAC over the legal limit that can get you in trouble. Other drinking-related Virginia traffic laws can have some pretty serious consequences. These actions include:
- Driving with an open container of alcohol in the passenger area
- Refusing a breath test
- Transporting children while under the influence
- Providing alcoholic beverages to underage persons
- Purchasing, possessing or consuming alcohol as an underage person
- Possessing alcoholic beverages at public schools
- Misrepresent your age (Using a fake ID)
- Boating or hunting while under the influence
With so much at stake, choosing not to drink and drive should be one of the easiest Virginia defensive driving tips to follow. Make sure to always plan ahead. Secure a designated driver or alternate mode of transportation home before you take a sip and you’ll never have to risk a DUI and endanger your life.
Wear Your Seat Belt!
The few seconds that you spend reaching across your lap and buckling your safety belt might just be the most important time of your day. You can reduce your risk of being fatally injured in a traffic accident by 40% by simply buckling up. Why wouldn’t you take this easy step to protect yourself? As the driver of a vehicle, you are responsible for ensuring that your passengers are using their Seat Belts. The driver and any passenger in the front seat, regardless of age, are required by Virginia traffic laws to wear their safety belts at all times. All passengers under the age of 18 are required to wear them at all times. Of all of the defensive driving tips you should follow, wearing your seat belt should never be one to ignore.
If you are interested in learning more about Virginia traffic laws, our online Driver Improvement Clinic will teach you everything you need to know Learn Virginia defensive driving tips to help you become a safer driver while lowering your Point Total by completing our Easy, DMV Approved program. It really is a win-win decision!Register Now